Just another WordPress.com site

Clean Eating

So I skipped a couple of weeks worth of cleaning (Project:Simplify) because either they didn’t apply to me or I was uninspired (paper clutter? organizing Ramona’s stuff again?). But this week was awesome: tackling the pantry. Ok, well technically the pantry and the fridge, but I didn’t want to do the latter. So I didn’t.

But back to the pantry!

Here is the before picture:

here is the after:

Doesn’t it look pretty? Since Krispin got diagnosed with all sorts of awful things last fall (high blood pressure/cholesterol) I got freaked out thinking we were headed for early (food induced) deaths like many Americans. So we changed our eating habits quite a bit. And started exercising. And it really is amazing what a difference that makes.

Tangent Alert: can I just say that since January I have lost 12 pounds? That is a huge deal for me, and I have worked my you-know-what off for each measly pound. And Krispin? He has lost over 30.

We have done the exact same thing.

Except I work out more than he does.

Boy metabolism makes me want to scream.

Tangent End.

A huge step in getting us healthier is simply not buying packaged snack/dessert type foods. No more triscuits or little debbies or any of those delicious Americana-type snackerals that I love. Way less meat (too expensive). Lots of brown rice, whole grain pasta, lentils, black beans, veggies veggies veggies. We feel great, we look pretty, our pantry looks pretty.

Plus, when you don’t have a bunch of boxes in your pantry, it looks like this:

Pretty jars full of real food!

All of this dovetails nicely with our plan of feeding Ramona only the good things that God makes. We should prolly do the same thing for ourselves.

4 responses

  1. rebekahdawn

    Very nice! I love the jars!

    April 1, 2011 at 6:37 pm

  2. Tonia

    Your jars of food look beautiful! Who wouldn’t want to eat good food when it looks that good! Great idea!

    April 2, 2011 at 12:37 am

  3. ah! so proud of you, sister. You’re starting to sound like your crazy organic loving older sister. :) Love it. p.s. weird…my plan this weekend was to organize my cupboards and food.

    April 8, 2011 at 5:51 pm

  4. Evan and Crystal

    Danielle, I am catching up on your blog now that I am home with Piper and it is great! I really loved this post on healthy eating and exercise…you would think that we would be better about it with me being a P.E teacher and all ,but I still get sucked into the same traps at the grocery store! We are really trying to eat more fruits and veggies, and it sounds like you and Lindsay are the ones to talk to. Way to go!

    April 15, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.